NRCC Announces Second Round of ‘Young Guns’ Candidates

May 6, 2010

NRCC Announces Second Round of ‘Young Guns’ Candidates
13 Republican Candidates Reach Top Level of Young Guns Program


Washington- The National Republican Congressional Committee (NRCC) announced today that 13 Republican candidates have reached ‘Young Guns’ status, the top tier of the Committee’s three-level recruitment program. These specially selected candidates have reached the third and final step of the Young Guns program by meeting imperative goals and benchmarks that are necessary for victory.


Originally founded in the 2007-2008 election cycle by Reps. Eric Cantor (R-VA), Kevin McCarthy (R-CA), and Paul Ryan (R-WI) as a member-driven organization, the Young Guns program has become an official NRCC effort dedicated to electing open-seat and challenger candidates nationwide. Cantor, McCarthy and Ryan remain very involved in young guns, working together to build a national wave of new conservative leaders dedicated to making Washington work for middle class Americans, not the other way around.

“By reaching ‘Young Guns’ status, these candidates have met a series of rigorous goals that will put them on the path to victory on Election Day,” said NRCC Chairman Pete Sessions. “The success of these candidates is testament to Americans’ frustration with an out-of-touch Democrat majority that continues to push their big-government, big-spending and job-killing agenda at the expense of middle-class families. Having already built formidable campaigns, these Young Guns are sending a loud and clear message that Democrats will be held accountable for their unpopular partisan agenda in November.”


After already demonstrating their ability to build competitive, effective, and winning campaigns, these ‘Young Guns’ are ready to win on Election Day.

The NRCC’s Second Round Of ‘Young Guns’ Candidates Are:


Jon Barela (NM-01)

Lou Barletta (PA-11)

Rick Berg (ND-AL)

Larry Bucshon (IN-08)

Sean Duffy (WI-07)

Bill Flores (TX-17)

Morgan Griffith (VA-09)

Richard Hanna (NY-24)

Alan Nunnelee (MS-01)

Jim Renacci (OH-16)

Scott Rigell (VA-02)

David Rivera (FL-25)

Jackie Walorski (IN-02)