McCarthy Adds Candidates to 2020 Young Guns Program

April 27, 2020

WASHINGTON – House Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy today announced the addition of 17 candidates to the committee’s 2020 Young Guns program, and the promotion of 14 to the Contender level. The program mentors and supports candidates in races across the country and works to provide them with the necessary tools to run successful, winning campaigns against their Democratic opponents.

“These candidates are instrumental in helping Republicans reclaim the House majority,” said House Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy. “With their continued hard work and dedication Republicans will be one step closer to sending the socialist Democrats packing in November.”

The NRCC’s Young Guns program requires candidates to work towards specific goals and meet benchmarks throughout the election cycle to ensure their campaigns remain competitive, well-funded and communicative within their districts. Candidates progress through three levels of the program: On the Radar, Contender and Young Gun.

You can view the Young Guns website by clicking HERE.

The new additions to the 2020 Young Guns program are as follows:

On The Radar

(AZ-02) Noran Eric Ruden

(FL-13) Anna Paulina Luna

(FL-19) Byron Donalds

(FL-19) Casey Askar

(GA-07) Rich McCormick

(IN-05) Beth Henderson

(MI-10) Lisa McClain

(MN-02) Tyler Kistner

(NH-01) Matt Mayberry

(NH-01) Matt Mowers

(NJ-03) David Richter

(NY-02) Andrew Garbarino

(NY-02) Mike LiPetri

(PA-08) Jim Bognet

(PA-08) Earl Granville

(VA-02) Benito Loyola

(WI-03) Derrick Van Orden

And the following candidates have been promoted to the 2nd stage of the program:


(AZ-01) Tiffany Shedd

(FL-07) Leo Valentin

(FL-19) William Figlesthaler

(FL-26) Carlos Gimenez

(IA-02) Mariannette Miller-Meeks

(IL-06) Jeanne Ives

(IL-17) Esther Joy King

(KS-03) Sara Hart Weir

(MI-08) Paul Junge

(MN-07) Michelle Fischbach

(OR-02) Jimmy Crumpacker

(OR-02) Knute Buehler

(VA-02) Scott Taylor (VA-07) Nick Freitas